Making photometry measurements in AA8 (and do a AAVSO file)

Image processing, astrometry, photometry, etc.
Post Reply
einari
Posts: 35
Joined: 28 Jan 2019, 10:46

Making photometry measurements in AA8 (and do a AAVSO file)

Post by einari » 22 Jul 2022, 09:28

Hello,

I've tried to make AAVSO compatible file which I could upload (to AAVSO) of an RR Lyrae type star:
https://www.aavso.org/aavso-alert-notice-786

So far no luch with my normal software I use (ASTAP).

Haven't used AA much execpt some individual astrometry/photometry measurements with AA7.
So batch photometry with AA is a mystery to me.
Can anyone tell me if there are good tutorials for it (I've read some help file included but it didn't help me much) ?
And can someone tell if I can make a AAVSO compatible file with AA ?

Oh, and how can I set star checking more sensitive ? I mean when I do it manually with cursor.

Dunmunro
Posts: 161
Joined: 10 Jan 2019, 01:11

Re: Making photometry measurements in AA8 (and do a AAVSO file)

Post by Dunmunro » 22 Jul 2022, 19:10

einari wrote:
22 Jul 2022, 09:28
Hello,

I've tried to make AAVSO compatible file which I could upload (to AAVSO) of an RR Lyrae type star:
https://www.aavso.org/aavso-alert-notice-786

So far no luch with my normal software I use (ASTAP).

Haven't used AA much execpt some individual astrometry/photometry measurements with AA7.
So batch photometry with AA is a mystery to me.
Can anyone tell me if there are good tutorials for it (I've read some help file included but it didn't help me much) ?
And can someone tell if I can make a AAVSO compatible file with AA ?

Oh, and how can I set star checking more sensitive ? I mean when I do it manually with cursor.
Did you read Help -> Batch Photometry?

fabdev
Posts: 353
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 21:43

Re: Making photometry measurements in AA8 (and do a AAVSO file)

Post by fabdev » 22 Jul 2022, 20:20

At the end of batch photometry, you could set a format something like:

RR LYR,<JD>,<MAG1>,<MAGERR1>,V,NO,STD,NA,NA,NA,NA,<AIRMASS>,NA,[ChartID],NA

to create an AAVSO report in magnitudes, but this would be only the last step of a more complex procedure.

Star detecting can be changed from Options / Stars. This will not help for batch phometry by the way, stars cannot be too faint.

I don't know a batch photometry tutorial on actual data, but if you publish your sequence it could be the first (!)
Greetings, Fabio.

Post Reply