Plate solving help

Image processing, astrometry, photometry, etc.
Forum_2015

Plate solving help

Post by Forum_2015 »

Hello all. My first thread.

Im new to AA5, learning as I go along, very happy with thy features ive discoverd so far, Im interested in using the software for plate solving. I find that AA5 can happily find coordinates on my images. However can someone explain the process of taking an image , finding the co-ordinates and then getting the mount to slew and centre the intended object/ area. Ive tried to work this out without success . I cant see how the find co-ordinates function and telescope control work together? Can someone detaisl the procedure?

Kind regards
Mark

Forum_2015

Re: Plate solving help

Post by Forum_2015 »

Hello,
there are two ways to use the plate solve for telescope autocenter:

1) The command "Center" of the Telescope Window, last tab.
2) The autocenter script, there are three variations in the manual, this is the most common use.

Kind regards,
Fabio.

Forum_2015

Post by Forum_2015 »

Hello , I spent best part of 2 hours tring to get the plate solve command to work. I suspect im missing a part of the process as I can t get my head around what could be wrong.

Once Ive taken my image , find co-ordinates works fine, however if I go over to the goto command, plate solve tab, the mount and co-orditates show the same, when I hit centre there is no solution offered. why would find co-ordinates option work and not the centre/plate solve function?

For those using plate solve can you go through the process you use.

thanks
Mark

Forum_2015

Post by Forum_2015 »

Hello,
you don't need not click Tools / Find Coordinates if you want to use the plate solve function to center your object. A procedure is:

1) Execute a telescope GOTO to the object.
2) When the telescope arrives, take a 5-seconds exposure to verify.