The Plate Solving function in AA8.

Cameras, telescopes, focusers and other hardware
fabdev
Posts: 285
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 21:43

Re: The Plate Solving function in AA8.

Post by fabdev » 01 Nov 2021, 14:35

Just to clarify: inside Astroart there are two different plate solve commands:

1) The command "Plate solve" which does not use the Star Atlas nor its catalogs.
2) The command "Reference stars automatic" from the Star Atlas, which uses the current star catalog. To make this work the star atlas must display the same field of the image. This command is useful only to assign reference stars.

Dave_S
Posts: 16
Joined: 11 Oct 2021, 10:09

Re: The Plate Solving function in AA8.

Post by Dave_S » 01 Nov 2021, 15:57

fabdev wrote:
01 Nov 2021, 14:35
Just to clarify: inside Astroart there are two different plate solve commands:

1) The command "Plate solve" which does not use the Star Atlas nor its catalogs.
2) The command "Reference stars automatic" from the Star Atlas, which uses the current star catalog. To make this work the star atlas must display the same field of the image. This command is useful only to assign reference stars.
Ok, thank you. I will stick to using Sharpcap, which uses the the "All Sky Plate Solver".

Iver
Posts: 55
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 04:32

Re: The Plate Solving function in AA8.

Post by Iver » 01 Nov 2021, 16:22

Hi Fabio, I've been using plate solving since you added it to AA. Could you please clarify where AA plate solve gets it's catalog data and where it's stored ? I added the GAIA catalog for AA 8, is it only used for the Star Atlas ? It may be a coincidence but since I added it AA now takes about 8 sec to open, previously it was almost immediately.
I don't use the the Star Atlas in AA so if it's not used for plate solving I may remove it.
Iver

Dunmunro
Posts: 126
Joined: 10 Jan 2019, 01:11

Re: The Plate Solving function in AA8.

Post by Dunmunro » 01 Nov 2021, 18:42

Dave_S wrote:
01 Nov 2021, 15:57
fabdev wrote:
01 Nov 2021, 14:35
Just to clarify: inside Astroart there are two different plate solve commands:

1) The command "Plate solve" which does not use the Star Atlas nor its catalogs.
2) The command "Reference stars automatic" from the Star Atlas, which uses the current star catalog. To make this work the star atlas must display the same field of the image. This command is useful only to assign reference stars.
Ok, thank you. I will stick to using Sharpcap, which uses the the "All Sky Plate Solver".
I think you will that AA8's automatic platesolve and goto, that I outlined in post two of this thread, works extremely well, and is extremely fast and accurate once the platesolve parameters are entered.

If you use AA8 for image acquisition you can also use it's multistar focus and multistar autoguiding along with the image acquisition automation features.

Dunmunro
Posts: 126
Joined: 10 Jan 2019, 01:11

Re: The Plate Solving function in AA8.

Post by Dunmunro » 02 Nov 2021, 18:06

Iver wrote:
01 Nov 2021, 16:22
Hi Fabio, I've been using plate solving since you added it to AA. Could you please clarify where AA plate solve gets it's catalog data and where it's stored ? I added the GAIA catalog for AA 8, is it only used for the Star Atlas ? It may be a coincidence but since I added it AA now takes about 8 sec to open, previously it was almost immediately.
I don't use the the Star Atlas in AA so if it's not used for plate solving I may remove it.
AIUI, AA8's plate solving engine uses the file astroar8.dat.

Iver
Posts: 55
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 04:32

Re: The Plate Solving function in AA8.

Post by Iver » 03 Nov 2021, 16:08

OK, got it.
Thanks
Iver

Post Reply