Connecting two cameras

Cameras, telescopes, focusers and other hardware
Post Reply
Dave_S
Posts: 16
Joined: 11 Oct 2021, 10:09

Connecting two cameras

Post by Dave_S » 11 Oct 2021, 10:26

I have recently returned to Astro Imaging, after a break of several years, and have just upgraded from Astroart 5 to Astroart 8.

My main imaging camera connects ok, but when I try to connect my guide camera, the software 'flags up' "cannot connect to camera".

I have installed d_ASCOM_dll and g_ASCOM.dll in the Astroart folder within Program Files (X86).

The cameras are an Altair Hypercam 294C Pro TEC (main camera), and an Altair GPCAM 130 (guide camera). Both ASCOM controllable.

The 294C is connected via USB2 to the PC, and the GPCAM 130 via USB2 connection from the 294C.

Advice/Guidance would be very welcome.

Dunmunro
Posts: 125
Joined: 10 Jan 2019, 01:11

Re: Connecting two cameras

Post by Dunmunro » 11 Oct 2021, 17:20

Dave_S wrote:
11 Oct 2021, 10:26
I have recently returned to Astro Imaging, after a break of several years, and have just upgraded from Astroart 5 to Astroart 8.

My main imaging camera connects ok, but when I try to connect my guide camera, the software 'flags up' "cannot connect to camera".

I have installed d_ASCOM_dll and g_ASCOM.dll in the Astroart folder within Program Files (X86).

The cameras are an Altair Hypercam 294C Pro TEC (main camera), and an Altair GPCAM 130 (guide camera). Both ASCOM controllable.

The 294C is connected via USB2 to the PC, and the GPCAM 130 via USB2 connection from the 294C.

Advice/Guidance would be very welcome.

What happens if you connect the GPC130 first, or by itself?

Dave_S
Posts: 16
Joined: 11 Oct 2021, 10:09

Re: Connecting two cameras

Post by Dave_S » 11 Oct 2021, 18:41

I can connect either on their own as a Main Camera. The option to connect camera 2 doesn't become available until the camera 1 is connected.

Dunmunro
Posts: 125
Joined: 10 Jan 2019, 01:11

Re: Connecting two cameras

Post by Dunmunro » 11 Oct 2021, 20:32

Dave_S wrote:
11 Oct 2021, 18:41
I can connect either on their own as a Main Camera. The option to connect camera 2 doesn't become available until the camera 1 is connected.
So the issue is that the 2nd camera can not connect, rather than it being specific to the GPC130.

You could use a simulator for camera one and then connect the GPC130. Then change the simulator camera to the 294C.

IIRC, there's a installation test function built into the ASCOM platform.

Dave_S
Posts: 16
Joined: 11 Oct 2021, 10:09

Re: Connecting two cameras

Post by Dave_S » 14 Oct 2021, 13:15

After excellent support from Fabio at MSB, I eventually manged to solve the problem myself.

It was a case of when selecting the second camera, it was picking up the driver (dll) for the first camera, In effect both cameras were attempting to use the same driver.

I do not know why this happened, but a complete re-install of Astroart 8, resolved the problem. It had to be that somewhere along the line, perhaps during the original install, something got corrupted.

The 'bottom line' there was nothing wrong with the program, and it now works fine.

Post Reply