Strange Behavior with ZWO ASI294MM camera

Cameras, telescopes, focusers and other hardware
Post Reply
cardanoc
Posts: 14
Joined: 13 Feb 2019, 16:33

Strange Behavior with ZWO ASI294MM camera

Post by cardanoc » 04 Oct 2021, 16:51

Hello

I open Astro Art 7 and
a) opened up the "Camera Control 7.0" window
b) clicked on the dropdown box and selected "Video"
c) clicked the "Setup" button
d) clicked on "ASI 174MM Camera"
e) clicked the "Connect" button
f) clicked "OK". The video Grabber window closed.
g) Changed my exposure to 1 sec.
h) Click "Start".
e) an image appeared and I was able to save it.

I repeated these steps with a different camera.

I open Astro Art 7 and
a) opened up the "Camera Control 7.0" window
b) clicked on the dropdown box and selected "Video"
c) clicked the "Setup" button
d) clicked on "ASI 294MM Pro Camera"
e) clicked the "Connect" button
f) clicked "OK". The video Grabber window closed.
g) Changed my exposure to 1 sec.
h) Click "Start".
e) It took the 1 sec exposure, and the "Download..." message appeared.

Three minutes later it was still trying to download.

When I clicked on the any part of the window, the entire screen went black and the system froze.

I had to reboot.

I checked the ZWO website. All of my drivers are up to date.

Dunmunro
Posts: 126
Joined: 10 Jan 2019, 01:11

Re: Strange Behavior with ZWO ASI294MM camera

Post by Dunmunro » 05 Oct 2021, 17:07

cardanoc wrote:
04 Oct 2021, 16:51
Hello

I open Astro Art 7 and
a) opened up the "Camera Control 7.0" window
b) clicked on the dropdown box and selected "Video"
c) clicked the "Setup" button
d) clicked on "ASI 174MM Camera"
e) clicked the "Connect" button
f) clicked "OK". The video Grabber window closed.
g) Changed my exposure to 1 sec.
h) Click "Start".
e) an image appeared and I was able to save it.

I repeated these steps with a different camera.

I open Astro Art 7 and
a) opened up the "Camera Control 7.0" window
b) clicked on the dropdown box and selected "Video"
c) clicked the "Setup" button
d) clicked on "ASI 294MM Pro Camera"
e) clicked the "Connect" button
f) clicked "OK". The video Grabber window closed.
g) Changed my exposure to 1 sec.
h) Click "Start".
e) It took the 1 sec exposure, and the "Download..." message appeared.

Three minutes later it was still trying to download.

When I clicked on the any part of the window, the entire screen went black and the system froze.

I had to reboot.

I checked the ZWO website. All of my drivers are up to date.
I think you should be selecting 'ASCOM' instead of 'Video'.

cardanoc
Posts: 14
Joined: 13 Feb 2019, 16:33

Re: Strange Behavior with ZWO ASI294MM camera

Post by cardanoc » 05 Oct 2021, 18:18

Hi

When I select ASCOM, none of my cameras show up in the list.

I do have the latest version of ASCOM and drivers.

Iver
Posts: 55
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 04:32

Re: Strange Behavior with ZWO ASI294MM camera

Post by Iver » 05 Oct 2021, 18:36

Make sure you have the ASCOM platform installed, the ZWO ASCOM driver and the Astroart ASCOM plugin from the Astroart website installed.
Iver

Dunmunro
Posts: 126
Joined: 10 Jan 2019, 01:11

Re: Strange Behavior with ZWO ASI294MM camera

Post by Dunmunro » 05 Oct 2021, 18:41

cardanoc wrote:
05 Oct 2021, 18:18
Hi

When I select ASCOM, none of my cameras show up in the list.

I do have the latest version of ASCOM and drivers.
You've installed the latest version of the ASCOM platform?
https://ascom-standards.org/

When the ASCOM platform is installed and you install the ASI294MM specific drivers (and Astroart's ASCOM interface), then you'd select ASCOM and the ASI294mm will appear as a camera option.

cardanoc
Posts: 14
Joined: 13 Feb 2019, 16:33

Re: Strange Behavior with ZWO ASI294MM camera

Post by cardanoc » 11 Oct 2021, 17:08

When I choose ASCOM, the only that shows up in the dropdown menu is "Camera V2 Simulator" and "simulator".

cardanoc
Posts: 14
Joined: 13 Feb 2019, 16:33

Re: Strange Behavior with ZWO ASI294MM camera

Post by cardanoc » 12 Oct 2021, 16:01

Hi,

ZWO "just" (i.e., 10/8/2021) came out with a new ASCOM driver.

I installed it.

Everything works fine.

Thanks to all of you.

Conrad

Post Reply