Fits headers - AA5 default?

Main forum about Astroart
Post Reply
Forum_2014
Posts: 255
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 22:33

Fits headers - AA5 default?

Post by Forum_2014 »

I usually need to supply much more than the basic fits header data to allow submission of spectra to the BeSS database.
If I edit the fits header file in one image, is it possible to "pick up" on this data as a default for all subsequent images???

Forum_2014
Posts: 255
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 22:33

Re: Fits headers - AA5 default?

Post by Forum_2014 »

There is not a direct command, but you can do it with a script.

Forum_2014
Posts: 255
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 22:33

Re: Fits headers - AA5 default?

Post by Forum_2014 »

Fabio,
Generally the same location and equipment are used over extended periods, it's only the target object which changes.
There are three areas:
1 Object
OBJNAME
otherwise
-RA
-DEC
-EQUINOX
-RADECSYS
2 Acquisition
DATE-OBS
EXPTIME
BSS_INST
otherwise
-TELESCOP
-DETNAM
-INSTRUME
BSS_SITE
otherwise
-BSS_LAT
-BSS_LONG
-BSS_ELEV
OBSERVER
CRVAL1
CDELT1
CRPIX1
CUNIT1
CTYPE1

3 Processing
BSS_VHEL
BSS_TELL
BSS_COSM
BSS_NORM

The full details of the various fields are given in "Specifications of spectra eligible for BeSS"
http://basebe.obspm.fr/basebe/

Forum_2014
Posts: 255
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 22:33

Re: Fits headers - AA5 default?

Post by Forum_2014 »

Maybe a script which writes these keys to the current image is enough(?)

Code: Select all

BSS_VHEL = -10.5
BSS_TELL = "none"
BSS_NORM = "corrected"

sub WriteBessKeys()
  Image.SetKey("BSS_VHEL",BSS_VHEL)
  Image.SetKey("BSS_TELL",BSS_TELL)
  Image.SetKey("BSS_NORM",BSS_NORM)
end sub

WriteBessKeys()
Otherwise the could be read from the current image and written to all the other ones opened in the Astroart desktop.

Forum_2014
Posts: 255
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 22:33

Re: Fits headers - AA5 default?

Post by Forum_2014 »

Fabio,
Hmmmm
Thanks for that.
Let me see what I can do.

Post Reply